January 2020 Previews: Carman’s Picks

Strange Adventures #1 (of 12)

JAN200506

March 4, 2020

Publisher: DC Comics

(W) Tom King (A) Evan Shaner (A/CA) Mitch Gerads

After winning five Eisner Awards and topping year-end “best of lists,” the comic book of 2019 was Mister Miracle. The comic book of 2020 will be Strange Adventures.
The Mister Miracle team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads are joined by fan-favorite artist Evan “Doc” Shaner to bring you an epic tale in the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, and DC: The New Frontier-a story of blood, war, and love that readers will be talking about for years to come.
Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous throughout the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted home to victory in a great planetary war, Adam and his wife Alanna retire to Earth, where they are greeted by cheers, awards, and parades. But not all is as happy and nice as it seems, as the decisions Adam made during battles on Rann come back to haunt his family and threaten the entire DC Universe. And now a surprise DC hero will have to choose between saving Adam Strange and saving the world.  
A story like no other, Strange Adventures is an ambitious, thrilling, shocking, and beautiful 12-issue saga that will push Adam Strange to the breaking point-and beyond!

If you’ve been following comic books even just a little bit over the past year or so, you already know that Tom King and Mitch Gerads doing a limited series together is a big deal. If you’re new to that concept, go on out and treat yourself to a copy of Mister Miracle. You’re in for a treat.

Decorum #1

JAN200108

March 11, 2020

Publisher: Image Comics

(W) Jonathon Hickman (A/CA) Mike Huddleston

SERIES PREMIERE! There are many assassins in the known universe. This is the story of the most well-mannered one. “Manners are a sensitive awareness of the feelings of others. If you have that awareness, you have good manners, no matter what knife you use.”

If you’re familiar with Jonathon Hickman’s creater-owned work, I know what you may be asking yourself right now — is this book going to take the next 10 years to wrap up? Who knows! Last I heard, Hickman’s been waiting to put out solicits until books were completed or near completion but either way, I’m also very excited for a new Hickman book. Some what recent recommended reading: House of X/Powers of X (soon to be collected together as Dawn of X), Black Monday Murders, and East of West.

X-Ray Robot #1 (of 4)

JAN200303

March 25, 2020

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

(W/A/CA) Mike Allred

Max is a family man seeking a more interesting life. While conducting a new experiment at work, the fabric of his reality is torn before his eyes, and a robotic figure appears, claiming to be his 277-year-old self. The robot is able to “X-Ray” multiple dimensions and battles a nihilistic entity from another dimension who wants to take all life to its “Pre-Big Bang” status.  Max and the robot embark on an interdimensional roadtrip through past and future to take down the “Nihilist” and save the universe!
o Mike Allred’s new bizarre superhero character X-Ray Robot!
“One of the best cartoonists in all of comics has done it again! X-Ray Robot is another Allred homerun!!” -Brian Michael Bendis
“Michael Allred kicks so much ass I can barely stand it. X-Ray Robot is the work of a master!” -Rob Thomas creator of Veronica Mars

I guess this makes for book number three on the list this month of “hey, these are creators I don’t want to pass up on!” Mike Allred’s art is rad and I will always check out something new from him. Recommended reading: X-Statix and Silver Surfer.

Starship Down #1 (of 4)

JAN200305

March 18, 2020

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

(W) Justin Giampaoli (A/CA) Andrea Mutti

A cultural anthropologist consults with US Naval Intelligence to investigate the discovery of an extraterrestrial ship buried under the ice for thousands of years in Siberia. The meddling Russians, Vatican officials, the international media spotlight, and her own insecurities all threaten her efforts to keep the fabric of society from crumbling.
o A brand-new thriller with blistering art from Andrea Mutti.

First contact and clandestine organizations — two big checkmarks in my favorite kinds of story ideas. I will definitely be checking this one out!

Share with your friends